TARGET SHOOTING AUCKLAND 73rd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

28th November 2019 held at the Howick Rifle Club clubrooms Meeting opened at 8:00pm

Present

Chris Wadham (Chair), Rob Dixon, Chris Sherwood, Steve O'Donnell, Mark Russell, Ken Snowden, Steve Petterson, Bruce Millard, Suanne Kanzig, Matt Milligan, Geoff Powell, Marc Dumont, Graham Barnes, Selena Wright, Jonathan Gill, Gavin Riddle, Yvette Lentner

Apologies

Chris Erasmus, Mark Clapson, Lawrence Moodie, John Dyer, William Pratt, Revel Drummond, Ben Mason

O'Donnell/Milligan

Minutes of previous meeting

Minutes distributed prior to the meeting and are taken as read.

Millard/Gill

Matters arising out of the previous meetings minutes

Chris Wadham "Ring fence of funds for 50m" transferred to General Business.
 O'Donnell/Riddle

Presidents Report

Thank you all for coming along this evening to take part in the 73rd AGM of the TSA.

We often begin by acknowledging shooters who have passed away in the previous year and this year I would like to acknowledge Margaret Clapson who passed away in August. She was involved in target shooting for many years; she was a life member of the Waitakere Club and active in TSA including a time as our Secretary. Her son Mark continues this valuable support.

This is an appropriate point to remind ourselves how important that support is, without our willing volunteers nothing is going to happen. One of our colleagues, Steve O'Donnell, is a good example, he is now President of TSNZ and we wish him all the best in his new role. And I want to extend my thanks to everyone who gives up their time and effort to help Auckland target shooting. I have said this before but we cannot survive without voluntary efforts.

A special word of thanks to Rob Dixon once again for all his work for TSA, much of it behind the scenes, to the board members of TSA and to the members of Howick, Waitakere and the Auckland clubs for all their work this year.

Looking at the regular emails and newsletters, and of course, the TSA Facebook page (thanks you Selena) you can see that all our Auckland clubs have been busy again in 2019.

And don't forget the TSA web site (kept up to date thanks to Steve O'Donnell) which has all the detailed Auckland results.

You can see that the Interclub competition has again been well supported this year. In fact, the total number of shooters who took part this year according to my count was just a squeak ahead of 2018, with 41 pretty regular shooters across the grades. As side note, I believe that the rules for the Interclub competition are probably due for a review.

We had some success this year at the Auckland v Waikato match, our Open team won by 10 points and our B team won by 8 points.

The 2019 Inter Association Indoor Postal match was won by the Auckland Open team, with a score of 988.62. Great shooting by Gavin, Jono, Steve P, Mark and Rudi.

We sent a team to the Teams of Ten match, which was held this year in Masterton. We were a little down on our last year's score and were placed eighth out of the ten teams in the Rees Scroll match. Jono Gill took the highest Auckland score certificate with his score of 392.21.

Jono Gill represented NZ in the NZ v Scotland 2019 Open Team and Gavin Riddle represented NZ in the Oceania 50m team events.

When we get to the prize giving, there are 30 Auckland shooters who will receive prizes or medals, almost the same number as last year, many of these being medals which acknowledge that the recipient has represented Auckland in competitive shooting this year. Again, this year we still have a wide range of shooters from young to old.

Please continue to give your support to opposition to those proposed legislative changes, which threaten the enjoyment of target shooting, a very safe, inclusive, and enjoyable sport.

Both Howick and Waitakere ranges will be closing quite soon for the summer period but both clubs will be holding working bees so please keep an eye on your emails and be prepared to offer your assistance with maintenance work.

I wish you and all your family and friends a very Happy Christmas and a safe and enjoyable holiday season.

Kind regards

Chris Wadham President Target Shooting Auckland

O'Donnell/Dumont

As this was Chris Wadham's final year, 5th year in office, he must stand down. A vote of thanks was made to Chris for his efforts over the past 5 years.

O'Donnell/Dixon

Treasurer Report

Bruce Millard gave a highlight package of the year's financials.

Thanks to Mark Clapson for auditing the accounts.

Millard/Petterson

Capitations & Affiliations

Current Affiliations are: Senior \$60.00 & Junior \$35.00 Steve Petterson proposed the fees remain the same for 2020.

Petterson/Millard

Honorarium

To remain the same as previous years, \$500.00 split between the Secretary and the Treasurer.

O'Donnell/Petterson

Election of Officers

Patron	Steve Petterson	Millard/Milligan	Elected
Vice Patron	Sel Howell	Millard/Wadham	Elected
President	Gavin Riddle	Petterson/O'Donnell	Elected
Vice President	Jonathan Gill	Riddle/	Declined
	Steve O'Donnell	Wadham/Milligan	Elected
Secretary	Rob Dixon	O'Donnell/Millard	Elected
Treasurer	Bruce Millard	Dixon/Petterson	Elected
Board Members (Maximum of 3)	Chris Wadham Matt Milligan Marc Dumont Suanne Kanzig	Petterson/O'Donnell Petterson/Kanzig Wadham/Millard Wadham/Milligan	Elected Elected Elected Elected
Selectors	Steve Petterson Bruce Millard Jonathan Gill	} }Wadham/Dumont Riddle/Wadham	Elected Elected
Publicity Officer	Lawrence Moodie	Millard/Milligan	Elected
Statistics Officer (including website)	Steve O'Donnell	Dumont/Gill	Elected
Auckland Coaches	Steve Petterson Steve O'Donnell Chris Erasmus Gavin Riddle) } })Millard/Dumont	Elected Elected Elected Elected

TSNZ AGM Report

Jonathan Gill was the TSA representative at this years TSNZ AGM. He spoke to the meeting on the events of the TSNZ AGM.

Wadham/O'Donnell

General Business

- Interclub format for 2020 Proposed rule change to enforce 3 members in a team. Possible new rule of a minimum of 2 persons are required to make a team (max 3).
- **Teams of Ten team/s** decision to send only 1 team. Auckland to host again in 2023.
- **Membership** due to the reduced numbers the focus is to retain old members by regularly contacting them. Follow up on new members also.
- Auckland Provincial Championship Thames Valley Open is no longer.
 Hamilton Rifle Club have stated they do not wish to host the shoot any
 longer. Te Awamutu Rifle Club have stated they wish to become the 7th
 shoot in the AP Championship.
- NDC 2020 agreed to enter this competition again.
- **Arms Legislation** Steve O'Donnell spoke on potentially what is will mean for clubs and shooters. He was involved with a presentation to the Governments Select Committee and also published an article on the TSNZ website showing the implications of the proposed amendments.

A vote of thanks was made from all at the meeting to Steve for his efforts.

• Thanks to Howick Rifle Club for the use of their facilities.

There being no further business the meeting was closed at 9:20pm.

C Wadham President R Dixon Secretary